Tuesday, August 15, 2006


Planet - Define it

Soon we may have 12 planets instead of nine in our solar system. Along with this we may have a new, generalized definition of Planet. In a conference in Paris last month of astronomers, historians and scientific writer, it was decided that a planet is an object, which orbits around the star (Sun in our case) so large that its own gravity pulls in its rough edges, producing a near-perfect sphere. So if this definition is agreed upon, we may have 12 planets in our solar system and Xena being one of them. All those irregular asteroids and comets are excluded from being defined as planets. Astronomers from around the world are scheduled to vote on the new definition on August 24 at the IAU's meeting in Prague. So soon we may be telling our children (not in my case, as i am just 22) about our solar system consists of 12 planets namely mercury, Venus, earth, mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Xena and two more.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?