Thursday, August 24, 2006


Solar Sytem has now 8 planets

Our solar system has only 8 planets from now onwards according to the new definition of a planet. Pluto is no longer considered as a Planet. Now we have only eight classic planets that are named as following:

Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune

Pluto is classified under new category of planet called as dwarf planets. "Pluto is dead" according to an astronomer. Billions of textbooks related to astronomy and geography will be required to be revised. According to the scientists and astronomers Pluto was too small for its own gravity to pull its orbit into a nearly spherical shape. Also the orbit of Pluto is erratic and overlaps with that of Neptune.

New definition of planet is as following:

"A planet is a celestial body that is in orbit around the Sun, has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it attains a nearly sphere shape and has cleared the neighborhood around its orbit."

The asteroid Ceres & an icy celestial body slightly larger than Pluto, called as UB313, nicknamed Xena will join Pluto as dwarf planets.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?