Tuesday, September 12, 2006


Punjab - The land of five rivers

From now onwards I will also share my knowledge regarding various places around the world and i am starting with my native place PUNJAB. Punjab means land of five rivers. These five rivers are the Jhelum, the Chenab, the Ravi, the Beas and the Sutlej - all of them are the tributaries of the Indus River.

Over the period it has been divided in to many parts. Now days, the northern state of India bordering Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan is called Punjab. Its capital is Chandigarh. Bathinda, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Patiala are some of its major districts. Punjab is one of the most developed states of the country in terms of infrastructure, prosperity, per capita income, education etc. Agriculture is the largest sector in Punjab.

Punjab is the land of rich folk fore, mighty warriors and great Aryans. Indus valley civilization and Harappa civilizations developed on this land and thus has major historic significance. Punjabi people are hardworking and warm hearted people. One can find people of different religions such as Hindus, Sikhs, Muslims, Christians, Jains etc. Punjabi is the official language of Punjab written as Gurmukhi which means "from the Mouth of the Guru" as it was standardised by Guru Angad Dev in the 16th century.

Punjab was first divided in 1947 during independence of India from British rule. The mostly Muslim western part of the province became Pakistan's Punjab Province; the mostly Sikh and Hindu eastern part became India's Punjab state. Later on Punjab was divided in to Himachal Pradesh, Haryana and present state of Punjab.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?